St. George is a great place to locate a business! The business licensing
office wishes to offer assistance with the application process and has
designed a set of questions and answers to help you understand some of the
requirements for opening a business in St George.
Dog License Information
Only two (2) dogs per residence are permitted in the City Of St. George.
Owners of unlicensed dogs are subject to a citation and fine.
Dog license tags go on sale annually January 1st.
Dog licenses expire December 31st of each year regardless of the date of purchase.
A dog license is required for dog’s age four (4) months or older.
Temporary resident dogs with current license tags of other cities or counties do not need a St. George license.
The following items are required to purchase a dog tag:
Dog License Application
Rabies vaccination certification for each dog
Spay or neutered certificate for each dog (if applicable)
Payment is acceptable in the form of a check or cash (please make checks payable to the City of St. George)
Late fees are assessed after February 28th. Licenses not renewed by February 28th will be assessed a $5.00 late fee per dog, per month with a maximum late fee of $20.00 per dog.
Tags may be purchased in person at the City Office Utilities Department located at 175 East 200 North.
By mail (please submit the Dog License Application with the required documents to the City of St.George 175 East 200 North St. George, Utah 84770.
Certain local veterinarians provide this service. Please contact your veterinarian to see if they offer this service.
Question Who must license their business?
Answer By law, all businesses are required to license with the local municipality in which they are doing business. General standards exist for licensure, but each city and county also have unique requirements and procedures. It is best to contact your city or county office to know the exact standards that are set for licensure.
Question Why are municipal business licenses required?
Answer Local licensure ensures that businesses are safe to the public and given the protections under the law to which a licenses business is entitled. A business may be visited or inspected and required to fulfill local zoning, building and parking requirements before receiving a license. This ensures employee and public health, safety and welfare.
Question Where do I go to get a business license?
Answer You may pick up applications at 175 E. 200 N. St. George, UT on the main floor of the St. George City offices or on our website (click here). Hours are Monday through Friday, 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. The telephone number is (435) 627-4740.
Question How long does it take to receive a business license?
Answer Most general business licenses in the City can be issued within 30 days. A general business license is approved by:
Building (435) 627-4100
Zoning (435) 627-4206
Fire Department (435) 627-4150
Washington County Health Department (435) 986-2580
Note: Before you decide on your business location, it is advisable to contact the Planning/Zoning Department to determine whether your business activity is allowed at that location.
Question How much does it cost?
Answer General business license fee ($50.00)
Number of full-time employees at $10.00 each
Number of part-time employees at $5.00 each
(who will work less than 450 hours per year)
Total fees Due ($350.00 Maximum without late fee)
A. Due And Payable: All license fees shall be paid in advance at the office of the city treasurer. Annual license fees shall be due and payable on January 1 of each year. The license fee of any business commenced after July 1 of the first year in business, shall be reduced by one-half (1/2). Cash or check only.
(City Code 3-1-7)
Certain types of businesses require additional fees. Please contact the City of St. George Business License Department for more information
Question What Documents do I need to submit to obtain a business license?
Answer For business license approval please submit the following:
- City of St. George Business License application.
- Appropriate Fees.
- Register with the Utah Department of Commerce either as a "DBA" (Doing Business As), corporation, Limited Liability Company or limited partnership. If the business is a Limited Liability Company or a Corporation, please submit complete Articles of Organization.
- Xerox copy of state contractors license or professional license if required.
- Approvals by Zoning Department, Fire Department, Building Department, and Health Department.
The license officer may require additional information as permitted by ordinances.
There are additional application requirements for Exhibitions, Concerts And Performers, Door-to-Door Solicitors, Occult Art Practitioners, Pawnbrokers, Swap Meets, Secondhand and Precious Metals/Gem Deals, Amusement Devices and Businesses, Ambulances, Christmas Tree Businesses, Junk Dealers and Junkyards, Billboard Advertising, Mini-Storage Rentals, Massage Establishments, Private Investigators, Employment Agencies, Collection Agencies, Taxicab Services, Mobile Catering Units, Septic Tank Pumpers, Mail Deliver Agencies, Towing Services, Alcoholic Beverages, Alarm System Businesses, Sexually Oriented Businesses.
Temporary Outdoor Events are licensed on a separate application with specific requirements. Please contact the City at (435) 627-4218 for further information.
Question Where do you register the business name?
Answer At the Utah State Division of Corporations and Commercial Code One Stop online Business Registration Website:
You may contact the Utah State Division of Corporations and Commercial Code at 801-530-4849 or toll free at 1-877-526-3994
Utah Division of Corporations and Commercial Code
160 East 300 South, 2nd Floor
Salt Lake City, Utah 84145-0801
There is a $22.00 filing fee. Businesses that are incorporated form a limited liability company or limited partnership must file incorporating or organizing articles. The fees vary. Please contact the Utah Division of Corporations.
Question Why are businesses required to register?
Answer Registration is required so that a comprehensive state registry of all business and corporate information is available for public reference. This information is vital to an orderly legal system and marketplace. Without it, the public or other businesses may have no way of knowing the persons with whom they are doing business.
Question How do I obtain a Sales Tax Number?
Answer Most business are required to collect and remit sales tax for the products (and some services) they provide to consumers. If you use the above mentioned website, you will obtain a sales tax number during this process.
Or you may contact:
Utah State Tax Commission
100 South 5300 West
Hurricane, Utah 84737
Hours: 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. Monday - Friday
(Closed on Holidays)
Question May I operate a business from my home?
Answer Yes, if your business meets the conditions outlined in the home occupation ordinance. See City Code 3-7-1, Chapter 7, Home Occupations. See City Codes.
Business Licensing Contact Form
175 E. 200 N.
St. George, Ut 84770
Phone: 435.627.4740 Contact Form