St. George is a great place to locate a business! The business licensing
office wishes to offer assistance with the application process and has
designed a set of questions and answers to help you understand some of the
requirements for opening a business in St George.
City of St. George Business License Department
175 E. 200 N.
St. George, UT 84770
Who must license their business?
By law, all businesses are required to license with the local municipality in which they are doing business. General standards exist for licensure, but each city and county also have unique requirements and procedures. It is best to contact your city or county office to know the exact standards that are set for licensure.
All businesses in Utah are required by law to register with the Utah
Department of Commerce either as a "DBA" (Doing Business As), corporation,
Limited Liability Company or limited partnership.
Why are municipal business licenses required?
Local licensure ensures that businesses are safe to the public and given the protections under the law to which a licenses business is entitled. A business may be visited or inspected and required to fulfill local zoning, building and parking requirements before receiving a license. This ensures employee and public health, safety and welfare.
Where do I go to get a business license?
You may pick up applications at 175 E. 200 N. St. George, UT on the main floor of the St. George City offices or on our website (click here
). Hours are Monday through Friday, 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. The telephone number is (435) 627-4740.
How long does it take to receive a business license?
Most general business licenses in the City can be issued within 30 days. A general business license is approved by:
Building (435) 627-4100
Zoning (435) 627-4206
Fire Department (435) 627-4150
Washington County Health Department (435) 986-2580
How much does it cost?
General business license fee ($50.00)
Number of full-time employees at $10.00 each
Number of part-time employees at $5.00 each
(who will work less than 450 hours per year)
Total fees Due ($350.00 Maximum without late fee)
|A. Due And Payable: All license fees shall be paid in advance at the office of the city treasurer. Annual license fees shall be due and payable on January 1 of each year. The license fee of any business commenced after July 1 of the first year in business, shall be reduced by one-half (1/2). Cash or check only.
(City Code 3-1-7)
Certain types of businesses require additional fees. Please contact the City of St. George Business License Department for more information.
Some types of business licenses require a background check.
For business license approval please submit the following:
- City of St. George Business License application.
- Appropriate Fees.
- Register with the Utah Department of Commerce either as a "DBA"
(Doing Business As), corporation, Limited Liability Company or limited
- Xerox copy of state contractors license or professional license if
- Approvals by Zoning Department, Fire Department, Building
Department, and Health Department.
The license officer may require additional information as permitted by
There are additional application requirements for Exhibitions, Concerts And
Performers, Door-to-Door Solicitors, Occult Art Practitioners, Pawnbrokers,
Swap Meets, Secondhand and Precious Metals/Gem Deals, Amusement Devices and
Businesses, Ambulances, Christmas Tree Businesses, Junk Dealers and
Junkyards, Billboard Advertising, Mini-Storage Rentals, Massage
Establishments, Private Investigators, Employment Agencies, Collection
Agencies, Taxicab Services, Mobile Catering Units, Septic Tank Pumpers,
Mail Deliver Agencies, Towing Services, Alcoholic Beverages, Alarm System
Businesses, Sexually Oriented Businesses.
Temporary Outdoor Events are licensed on a separate application with
specific requirements. Please contact the City at (435) 627-4218 for further
City Business Licenses Frequently Asked Questions
May I operate a business from my home?
Yes, if your business meets the conditions outlined in the home occupation ordinance. See City Code 3-7-1, Chapter 7, Home Occupations. See City Codes.
Why are businesses required to register?
Registration is required so that a comprehensive state registry of all business and corporate information is available for public reference. This information is vital to an orderly legal system and marketplace. Without it, the public or other businesses may have no way of knowing the persons with whom they are doing business.
Where do you register the business name?
At the Utah State Division of Corporations and Commercial Code One Stop online Business Registration Website:
You may contact the Utah State Division of Corporations and Commercial Code at 801-530-4849 or toll free at 1-877-526-3994
Utah Division of Corporations and Commercial Code
160 East 300 South, 2nd Floor
Salt Lake City, Utah 84145-0801
There is a $22.00 filing fee. Businesses that are incorporated form a limited liability company or limited partnership must file incorporating or organizing articles. The fees vary. Please contact the Utah Division of Corporations.
Where do I obtain a sales tax number?
Utah State Tax Commission
100 South 5300 West
Hurricane, Utah 84737
Hours: 8:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m. Monday – Friday
(Closed on Holidays)